Suzanne Kamata

Suzanne Kamata is the award-winning author of four novels – Losing Kei (Leapfrog Press, 2008), Gadget Girl: The Art of Being Invisible (GemmaMedia, 2013), Screaming Divas (Simon Pulse 2014), The Mermaids of Lake Michigan (Wyatt-Mackenzie Publishing, 2017) -- and a short story collection, The Beautiful One Has Come (Wyatt-Mackenzie Publishing, 2011). Her short stories and essays have appeared in many journals and magazines. She has an MFA from the University of British Columbia, and currently serves as Fiction Editor for Kyoto Journal.

Suzanne's Course

Fiction Level 1


This course is for anyone who is interested in getting started in writing fiction or delving further into writing stories. Each week we will address one aspect of fiction writing, beginning with a brief essay on craft. I will give short weekly writing assignments related to each topic, suggest supplemental reading material, and critique up to 1,000 words of your writing each week.

Find out more

Any Questions? Get in Touch



Sold Out