The Jake Adam York Prize

Posted 05/09/2018 under Writing Contests,

The Jake Adam York Prize for a first or second poetry collection is a collaboration between Copper Nickel and Milkweed Editions.

Deadline: October 15, 2018.

The winner will receive $2,000 and publication by Milkweed Editions.

Submit book-length (more than 48 pages) poetry manuscripts.

Judge: Mark Doty, author of nine poetry collections and winner of the 2008 National Book Award (among many other awards).

To be eligible for the prize, poets cannot have published more than one full-length book of poetry. (Chapbooks and individual poems in magazines are OK.)

Poets must be US Citizens (living abroad is fine) or must live in the US and be writing in English.

Manuscripts can—but don’t have to—include work previously published in journals and chapbooks. If the manuscript includes previously published work, please include an acknowledgments page.

Previously self-published books are ineligible, as are co-authored books.

Reading Fee: $25 (this includes a one-year subscription to Copper Nickelworth $20). All money raised beyond production costs for the prize will go toward paying Copper Nickel contributors.

More here.

Back To Resources